Emergency Management Resource Links


Federal Emergency Management








Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency
Mitigation, Preparedness, Response and Recovery 
GEMA’s mission is to provide a comprehensive and aggressive all hazards approach to homeland security initiatives, mitigation, preparedness, response, recovery and special events in order to protect life and property and prevent and/or reduce negative impacts of terrorism and natural disasters in Georgia.



American Red Cross

Get a Kit, Make a Plan, Be Informed

The American Red Cross exists to provide compassionate care to those in need. Our network of generous donors, volunteers and employees share a mission of preventing and relieving suffering, here at home and around the world, through five key service areas: Disaster Relief, Supporting America’s Military Families, Lifesaving Blood, Health and Safety Services, and International Humanitarian Services.



Emergency Management Institute

EMI Courses and Schedule 
To support the Department of Homeland Security and FEMA’s goals by improving the competencies of the U.S. officials in Emergency Management at all levels of government to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the potential effects of all types of disasters and emergencies on the American people.



National Emergency Management

The National Emergency Management Association (NEMA) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit 501(c)(3) association dedicated to enhancing public safety by improving the nation’s ability to prepare for, respond to, and recover from all emergencies, disasters, and threats to our nation’s security. NEMA is the professional association of and for emergency management directors from all 50 states, eight U.S. territories, and the District of Columbia.


International Association of Emergency

The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM), which has more than 5,000 members worldwide, is the preeminent international non-profit organization of emergency management professionals. IAEM is dedicated to promoting the “Principles of Emergency Management” and representing professionals whose goals are saving lives and protecting property and the environment during emergencies and disasters.



Ready Georgia 
Launched January 2008, Ready Georgia is a statewide campaign supported by the Georgia Emergency Management Agency (GEMA) aimed at motivating Georgians to take action to prepare for a disaster. GEMA is the state agency that is responsible for emergency mitigation, preparedness, response, recovery and special events.



Georgia Spatial Data Infrastructure 
The GaSDI: coordination, data, and inform-ation. The coordination component takes the form of the Georgia GIS Coordinating Committee or GISCC. In addition to the GISCC there is policy arm which is the Georgia Geospatial Advisory Council or GGAC. The data component is an online repository of over 30,000 geographic datasets located at Georgia GIS Clearinghouse. The information explaining the GaSDI history, activities, geospatial technologies, and resources, is found at http://www.georgiaspatial.org.



Provided by the United States Department of Commerce, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them. From daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce, NOAA’s products and services support economic vitality and affect more than one-third of America’s gross domestic product. NOAA’s dedicated scientists use cutting-edge research and high-tech instrumentation to provide citizens, planners, emergency managers and other decision makers with reliable information they need when they need it.



The Salvation Army 

Southern Territory Headquarters – The Southern Territory serves the fifteen southeastern states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and the District of Columbia.

New Content Block: Edit this to add your own content here.